## PORT COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING - August 23, 2010

A SPECIAL meeting of the Port of Port Townsend Commission in the Commission Chambers, 375 Hudson Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368

Present: Commissioners – Collins, Thompson, Erickson

Executive Director – Crockett Deputy Director – Pivarnik

Auditor – Taylor Recorder - Nelson Attorney - Lake

### I. CALL TO ORDER/PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 AM

#### II. APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Commissioner Collins moved to approve the Agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote

III. PUBLIC COMMENTS (not related to Agenda)

None

Excused

#### IV. FEDERAL GRANT DISCUSSION:

Commissioner Collins presented information on a Department of Transportation Federal Grant Option on Marine Highway projects. Mr. Crockett explained that the grant needs to be submitted by 5:00 PM on August 27, 2010. There is \$7M total funding available in this grant cycle, with applicants required to provide at least 20% of project costs. Some of the match may be met with Port in-kind efforts.

Commissioner Collins moved to authorize staff to pursue the DOT Federal Grant for Marine Highway projects and submit the application by the August 27, 2010 deadline.

Mr. Crockett recommended the Commission approve the application amount for \$1.5M in funding.

Commissioner Collins modified the motion to authorize staff to pursue the DOT Federal Grant for Marine Highway projects in the amount of \$1.5M and to submit the application by the August 27, 2010 deadline.

Motion carried with two votes for (Collins and Erickson) and one against (Thompson).

### V. STAFF COMMENTS:

None

# VI. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

None

## VII. COMMISSIONER COMMENTS:

None

<u>VIII. NEXT MEETING</u>: Wednesday, August 25, 2010 at 6:30 PM with the Public Workshop at 3:30 PM, Commission Chambers, 375 Hudson Street, Port Townsend, WA.

#### IX. ADJOURNMENT:

The regular meeting adjourned at 8:24 AM, there being no further business to come before the Commission.

Attest:	
T. CONT. E. I.	John N. Collins, President
Leif W. Erickson, Secretary	David H. Thompson, Vice President