









## **MINUTES**

Joint Special Meeting
Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners,
Port Townsend City Council,
Port of Port Townsend,
Jefferson County Public Utility District No. 1, and
Jefferson County Board of Health
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

Commissioners' Chambers 1820 Jefferson Street, Port Townsend

**CALLS TO ORDER:** The Joint Special Meeting of Jefferson County, Port Townsend City Council, Jefferson County Board of Health, Jefferson County Public Utility District (PUD) No. 1 and Port of Port Townsend was called to order at 5:00 p.m. The following members and staff participated remotely and introduced themselves:

Jefferson County Board of Commissioners: Chair Greg Brotherton, Commissioner David Sullivan, and Commissioner Kate Dean.

**Jefferson County Staff:** Public Health Officer Dr. Thomas Locke, County Administrator Philip Morley, Public Health Director Vicki Kirkpatrick, Community Health Director Appalachia Martine and Water Quality Manager Mike Dawson.

**Port Townsend City Council:** Mayor Michelle Sandoval, Councilmember Ariel Speser, Councilmember Monica Mick-Hager, Councilmember Owen Rowe, Councilmember Pamela Adams, Councilmember Amy Howard and Councilmember David Faber.

Jefferson County Board of Health: Chair Sheila Westerman, Vice-Chair Pamela Adams (City of Port Townsend Councilmember), Greg Brotherton (Jefferson County Commissioner), Kate Dean (Jefferson County Commissioner), David Sullivan (Jefferson County Commissioner), Kees Kolff (Public Hospital District #2 Commissioner) and Denis Stearns (Citizen at Large).

Jefferson County Public Utility District (PUD) No. 1: Commissioner/President Dan Toepper, Commissioner Jeff Randall, Commissioner Kenneth Collins and PUD General Manager Kevin Streett. Port of Port Townsend: Commissioner/President Pete Hanke, Commissioner Pam Petranek, Commissioner Bill Putney and Executive Director Eron Berg.

**PURPOSE OF MEETING:** Jefferson County Board of Commissioners Chair Greg Brotherton explained that the purpose of the Joint Special Meeting is to discuss the County's Phase II Process, and the Public Health Officer's Initial Phase II Recommendations under the Governor's Safe Start Washington Plan.

**BRIEF REPORTS:** The Boards heard brief reports from the following individuals and organizations: Economic Development Council Team Jefferson Executive Director Brian Kuh, Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Arlene Alen, North Hood Canal Chamber of Commerce Director Frank Redmon, and Fort Worden Public Development Authority Executive Director Dave Robison.

## REFLECTIONS ON PHASE II, SUBMITTED PUBLIC COMMENTS and BRIEF

REPORTS: Members of the Port of Port Townsend Commission, Jefferson Public Utility District No. 1 Commission and Port Townsend City Council reported on comments they have received from the public as well as their ideas and suggestions regarding Phase II of Governor Inslee's reopening plan.

**COMMENTS BY PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICER:** Jefferson County Public Health Officer Dr. Thomas Locke briefed the Boards on the current health situation and discussed his recommendation for the Phase II variance.

NEXT STEPS TO CONSIDER A PHASE II VARIANCE APPLICATION:

Jefferson County Board of Commissioners Chair Greg Brotherton explained the next steps in the process toward a Phase II variance for Jefferson County.

**JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH:** The Board of Health members discussed the Phase II variance.

FUTURE COMMUNITY RECOVERY AND RESILIENCE COLLABORATION:

Jefferson County Board of Commissioners Chair Greg Brotherton, City of Port Townsend Mayor Michelle Sandoval, Public Utility District (PUD) No. 1 President Dan Toepper, Port of Port Townsend President Pete Hanke, and Board of Health Chair Sheila Westerman discussed future collaboration on the ongoing COVID-19 response for Jefferson County.

NOTICE OF ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

SEAL.

ATTEST:

Cawlyn Gallaway, CMC

Deputy Clerk of the Board

CITY OF PORT TOWNSEND CITY COUNCIL

ATTEST:

Joanna Sanders, MMC

City Clerk

PORT COMMISSION

Peter Hanke, President

William Putney III, Vice President

Pamela a Petranek Pamela Petranek, Secretary JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Greg Brotherton, Chair

Approved tele phonycally David Sullivan, Member

Kate Dean, Member

JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH

nous

Sheila Westerman, Chair Approved Telephonically

ATTEST:

Jenny Matter, Board of Health Clerk

PUBLIC UTILITY DISTRICT No. 1

Dan Toepper, President

Dan Toepper

Keimein Collins, Vice President

kenneth Collins

Jeff Randall, Secretary

Docusigned by:

Jeff Randall

--- DB3CF29E6B18423.